Blacklist Regulars 'Through the Blast' Album Review By Allyson Kingsley
Posted by NinaBRR on October 11 2019 12:42:01

Blacklist Regulars

Through the Blast

Pavement Entertainment

Released: June 14, 2019

Album Review By Allyson Kingsley, Music Journalist

Boston Rock Radio


Luke Keating - Vocals

Nick Kraeuter - Drums

Dylan Dice - Guitar

Philip Nielsen - Bass


Blacklist Regulars are a young hard rock quartet based out of Chicago and Through the Blast is their debut album. They are venturing on tour this month with Powerman 5000, hed P.E. and Adema. They have gained the attention of numerous radio stations and have a strong legion of fans and followers and it is all backed by hard work and great integrity.


Through the Blast is full of huge riffs segueing into a bruising pace with superb percussion work and gritty sultry vocals. My choice track is "Are We Just Dying" which sounds darker than the rest of the tracks and I really dig the guitar/drum/bass interplay. Phenomenal little guitar solo embedded within. Maybe it's just me but I hear the earthy undertones of Sabbath in "Don't Give Up" and again the vocals are rich and downright dirty. "Superhuman" which is a bonus track is definitely a smooth number and had caught on Wisconsin’s WIIL Rock 95, where it was 'Hit of the Day' and Rock 94.7 as the 'Spotlight Artist' and have also received support from Illinois’ Q100.7’s 'Noon Takeover' and Ontario-based Rock 95FM. It is a catchy song and again on the darker tones of the spectrum.


Blacklist Regulars have impressed me with this album and though I mainly trek into the extreme side of rock and metal, I sometimes like to slow things down a bit with hard rock that bolsters the soul.


Nina will be attending the show later this month in New Bedford, MA. Stay tuned for a complete interview with the band.