Login
Username

Password



Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
On The Air
Boston Rock Radio WB OTA


WB OTA

Recently Played
BRR Latest Articles
BRR Random Articles
Among Us - EP Review 734
The Blacktones The D... 368
Tommy Stewart's Dyer... 130
Message From Sylvia ... 7755
Volition Visions of ... 285
BRR Popular Articles
The Webster in Hartf... 14055
Hinder Interview wit... 13875
Lucid Fly “Buildin... 13305
Interview with Red T... 13150
Avenue CD Release Show 13100
Article Info
Articles: 333
Readen: 540055
Translate Our Site
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » Music Reviews » Tiny Stills Laughing Into The Void Big Picture Media
Tiny Stills Laughing Into The Void Big Picture Media

Tiny Stills

Laughing Into The Void

Big Picture Media

By Gabe Straight, Music Journalist

Boston Rock Radio

Image result for tiny stills album

What sounds like Owl City listened to All Time Low, LA natives Tiny Stills have released an album chock-full of pop melodies, bright synth, and sweet lyrics. Right from the very first song, “When I’m With You” the album hits you with everything it’s got: it’s sweet, quirky, and joyfully aware of how much fun it’s having. The lyrics sing of skipping work to order chinese food and watch Back to the Future, and bragging to your exes about how good the sex is. It’s unbelievably up front about it, and constantly reminds you of how much fun it’s having.

 

After the first song, Tiny Stills doesn’t stop at all with its signature cute-punk. I can say with confidence I haven’t ever heard a band quite like them. As the album goes along, I found myself in front of string and piano arrangements, unique chord progressions, and an ever growing dynamic of sound in “My Skin.”  “Small Talk” follows, and keeps the quirky punk sound going.

 

This entire album is a wonderfully pleasant surprise. My Spotify playlist got a little bit bigger, and I couldn’t be happier about it. Highlights off the album include “My Skin” “When I’m With You” and  “Don’t Call Me a Catch.” Please, please, please, PLEASE check this band out. They will make your entire day brighter.

 

For more information:
Website:
www.tinystills.com
Facebook:
www.facebook.com/tinystills
Twitter:
www.twitter.com/tinystills
Instagram:
www.facebook.com/tinystills

Upcoming Tour Dates with Get Married:
Friday, August 10 - Los Angeles, CA - Space 15 Twenty
Saturday, August 11 - Fullerton, CA - Riff Mountain
Sunday, August 12 - San Diego, CA - Trevor's House
Monday, August 13 - Las Vegas, NV - Cornish Pasty
Wednesday August 15 - Phoenix, AZ - The Trunk Space
Friday, August 17 - Denton, TX - The Bean Cave
Sunday, August 19 - Houston, TX - The Black Box
Thursday, August 23 - Memphis, TN - The Hi-Tone
Friday, August 24 - Atlanta, GA - Masquerade (Purgatory)
Sunday, August 26 - Richmond, VA - The Camel
Monday, August 27 - Philadelphia, PA - The Pharmacy
Wednesday, August 29 - Brooklyn, NY - Gold Sounds
Thursday, August 30 - Baltimore, MD - The Sidebar
Friday, August 31 - Pittsburgh, PA - Cattivo
Saturday, September 1- Newport, KY - Wooden Cask Brewery
Sunday, September 2 - Chicago IL - Gman Tavern
Thursday, September 7 - Denver, CO - Moe's
Saturday, September 8 - Fort Collins, CO - Pinball Jones Campus West
Sunday, September 9 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Underground
Monday, September 10 - Boise, ID - Mike's House
Tuesday, September 11 - Seattle, WA - Victory Lounge
Wednesday, September 12 - Portland, OR - Geodesic Art Space
Thursday, September 13 - Chico, CA - Naked Lounge
Friday, September 14 - Sacramento, CA - Cafe Colonial
Saturday, September 15 - San Jose, CA - The Art Boutiki

Share This News
AddThis:
URL:
BBcode:
HTML:
Facebook Like:


Ratings
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
BRR Mobile Apps
Get it on Google Play
BRR Social Media
Find Us On Facebook Find us On Twitter Find Us On Linkedin
Find Us On Youtube Find Us On Tumbler Find Us On Instagram
BRR Latest Interviews and Reviews
Fatherson Charm School Easy Life Records
Victory Kid “Adrenaline” Song Review Big Picture Media
We the Kings Six S-Curve Records
Steelawake Dragging You Inside Sliptrick Records
Tiny Stills Laughing Into The Void Big Picture Media
Shiragirl – “Summer’s Comin’” Song/Video Review
Joe Settineri Interview
A Gathering of None & More Live Show Review
Ironcore Resistance For the Fallen Pavement Entertainment Album Review
Puddle of Mudd Concert Review The Palladium, Worcester, MA July 13, 2018
Facebook Live Shows
BRR Donation
Untitled Document
brr logo
LIKE & FOLLOW US
Boston Rock Radio Facebook
BRR RSS Feeds
RSS BRR Comments: BRR branch
RSS BRR Comments: BRR category

RSS BRR News
RSS BRR Comments
RSS BRR Forum
RSS BRR Articles
RSS BRR Photos
RSS BRR Downloads
RSS BRR Weblinks

Powered by PHP-Fusion copyright © 2002 - 2008 by Nick Jones - Released as free software without warranties under GNU Affero GPL v3 - Theme by Datalus